An introverts thoughts

I am my best friend.

I thrive off of being alone. I’m comfortable doing things by myself, like getting a cup of coffee or going for a walk through the park.

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve always been ok with doing things by myself… I’ve even preferred it. This doesn’t mean that I don’t have any friends, on the contrary, I have a nice group of friends and I do like socializing at times.

But being in a large group of people and having to constantly socialize drains my energy. I thrive off of solitude. I need time by myself to unwind and then rewind so that I can go socialize.

Sometimes, well most of the time, I’m perceived as angry or sad by others, when in reality I just haven”t had enough time to recharge from over stimulation. When people talk to me at these times, which I wish was less times than it really is, I’m very rigid or snappy or annoyed towards them because I haven’t had time to process the day of being around so many people or in loud, over stimulating environments. I’m much more of a different person when I’m with a small, close group of friends than I am, say, in class or at debate practice.

I’m still trying to find that right balance between being by myself and being able to socialize, and still trying to find that confidence I feel with my friends in large crowds of people.

Leave a Reply

