The annoying thing about practice

I do Public Forum in Speech and Debate, and I really love doing debate but going to practice annoys me.

Practices are roughly three hours long, with about a ten minute meeting before then a 30 minute W.I.P. (work in progress) at the end.

However, in the hour and a half that suppose to be the time that PF writes cases and doing practice debates, most of the PF-ers are busy rapping or talking about things that are clearly not about debate. But, this is time that I need help writing cases or doing research or writing blocks because I’m new and I still don’t know what I’m doing.

I’m lucky if I read half of a research paper that’s 5 pages long about the debate topic in that hour and a half or write two sentences on my contention.

So, instead of working on things during practice, I have a squeeze in time on the weekend to write cases with my debate partner. That is time that I literally do not have. I have other things that I need to get done and I don’t have time to go to a coffee shop for four or five hours trying to write a case. On top of that, people get upset when cases aren’t written. 

Anyways, I’m just annoyed because nothing really gets done at debate practices. 

 

Leave a Reply

