The standard with double standards

Imagine this: You see a teenage girl walking down the school hallway dressed in shorts and a tank top. She is talking to her friend, a boy, also dressed in shorts and a tank top (more commonly known as a “bro-tank”). But who does the teacher stop to call out for their appearance? The girl.

This is called a double standard, and I guarantee that you have come across them in your life in one shape or another. Webster’s Dictionary defines a double standard as “a set of principles that applies differently and usually more rigorously to one group of people or circumstances than to another; especially: a code of morals that applies more severe standards of sexual behavior to woman than to men.”

I’m really peeved with double standards, especially double standards between men and women and how we dress. I know that girls can sometimes wear shorts that are too short and tank tops that show too much cleavage. However, most teacher and administration in schools don’t look twice when boys show up in “Chubbies”, shorts that, in my opinion, are too short for any respectable man to wear. But, as soon as I show up in my shorts I get sent to the principal’s office where I then have to call home. Taking time from my learning because my shoulders are showing is saying that my education is not as important as a boys.

Why don’t we tell boys to focus on their schoolwork rather than on the bare shoulders in front of them? Telling girls that they have to dress a certain way to avoid distracting boys is not only sexist, but also a huge issue when schools, and even society, only call out girls for dressing that way when boys do the same thing.

Leave a Reply

