Empty Words of Love – A Poem

I’ve debated on publishing this poem for some time, not because I’m afraid of anyone seeing it but because it pretty personal to me. However, I’ve just decided to go for it.

Empty Words of Love by Katelynn Showers

I fell hard and fast

Loving you with every fiber

 

You made me feel like

I was on top of the world

Like a sky tie-dyed with a

Kaleidoscope rainbow

 

When I met you I felt

Wanted

But when you left me

I felt abandoned

 

I fell hard

I let my walls down

From a distance you watched

 

And I still sit here quoting the same

lines from the same TV shows

And I try to replace your voice

with mine

But when I do yours comes sling shooting

back to me

 

I learned that you would never truly love me

 

From a distance you watched

Me fall head-over-heels

As I lay here crying

You offer me

Empty words of Love

 

Now my sky is a storm cloud

Filled with what ifs, how comes, and

Empty words of Love

While you sky, well, if a kaleidoscope

 

Your fingers brushed over my skin

Tracing little circles of empty promises

Now they trace little circles

Over hers

 

You wanted me to be her

But I could never be her

And while I still tried to be her

I lost myself in the process

 

And now I sit here, quoting the same lines

Trying to replace your voice with

Mine

Leave a Reply

