My Thoughts On NaNoWriMo and My Novel Thus Far

Warning: This post is a brain dump of my thoughts. Sorry if it’s chaotic and littered with spelling and grammar errors.

NaNoWriMo is officially here, as it is day three of the chaotic madness. I have written a grand total of 3,444 words for my novel. I have yet to reach today’s goal and probably won’t since I’m knee-deep in homework.

I’m loving my story so far, and I’m loving the pacing of it. Here’s what has happened so far: Marilynn (the main character) goes to Cartel (a local coffee shop) with her friend William (another main character), and there she see’s a group of teenagers. However, Marilynn is the only one who can see them and William thinks she’s going crazy. A couple of days later, Marilynn and William meet up at an all-ages club with a group of friends where Marilynn runs into the mysterious group of people again. This time, William can see them. William wonders off, and Marilynn follows the mysterious group of young people to see what they are up to.

I’m still on chapter two, which seems like it will be a very, very long chapter, but nevertheless, I’m loving the novel! I plan to write some more tomorrow at lunch and after school since it’s early release tomorrow, so hopefully I’ll get caught up on word count then.

Here’s the last line that I wrote in my novel: Marilynn made a split second decision and slipped into the room, closing the door lightly behind her.  

Leave a Reply

