What The World Needs: Positive Thoughts

Normally when I’m done meditating for the day, I crawl into bed and don’t give a second thought to how my day went, how I acted, things I’ve said, things over people have said, and so forth… But today I did sit for a while and I thought about my day. I took a critical eye to what my actions were today, were they good or bad, positive or negative, helpful or not? I thought about some of the things I said, were they harmful to my relationships with other people, were they hurtful or kind words?

What I discovered shocked myself. We, as humans, think over  60,000 thoughts a day, and most of them are negative. We may not know that these thoughts are negative because we aren’t directing them to other people verbally, but they are. ‘I’m not pretty’ and ‘I’m so stupid’ are some words I use more than I’d like to admit. In fact, today I even down right called myself ugly.

Most of these thoughts we think are negative towards ourselves. Even if we mean it in a playful manner, they still damage us a little bit at a time because out unconscious-self absorbs these thoughts. I’ve even had negative thoughts towards other people… people that I don’t even know that might have slightly annoyed me.

Honestly, I can’t remember the last positive thing I’ve thought before I sat down to meditate. Can you think of the last positive thing you thought of today? If you can, then you’re living life right. If not, then i urge you to rethink your thought patterns. Just because someone is standing in the middle of the crowded hall (you know who you are), or you’re co-worked is being mean doesn’t give you the right to think negative thoughts about them. I’m not saying you can’t, but thinking negative thoughts can only damage you.

What I’m saying is that thinking negative thoughts only damages yourself. Sometimes a few negative thoughts do slip by, I’m only human. Before you start to think something negative, stop and think: is it really worth it?

Leave a Reply

